The Law Offices of John M. McCabe, P.A. - Raleigh Personal Injury Attorney
Free Initial Consultations
Toll Free: 877-320-1851 | Phone: 919-899-9852
Toll Free: 877-320-1851
Phone: 919-899-9852
Call Us Now
COVID-19 Update: Our office is open and we are available for video conferencing and phone consultations. Please call us to learn more.
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Commercial Vehicle Accidents
  4.  » Requirements a school bus driver must meet in North Carolina
Personal

Injury
Motor Vehicle

Accidents
Nursing

Home/Assisted Living
Workers'

Compensation
Serious And

Catastrophic Injuries

Requirements a school bus driver must meet in North Carolina

| Feb 12, 2015 | Commercial Vehicle Accidents

 

Every day, thousands of children in Raleigh go to school by bus. If even one of these buses is involved in an accident, the consequences can be very serious, especially because there are children on board most times. Recent examples of such accidents in the North Carolina can be found on the blog site. In order to prevent such bus accidents, the state’s Department of Transportation has a set of requirements that school bus drivers must meet before operating a school bus.

A school bus driver must be at least 18 years old and be in possession of a valid commercial driver’s license issued by the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. That driver must also have at least six months’ experience as a licensed motor vehicle operator and a valid health certificate. It is also important for drivers to establish that they do not hold more than one commercial driver’s license and that their license is not disqualified, suspended or revoked for any reason.

An applicant for a school bus driver’s job must also be physically and mentally competent at operating a bus with children on board. If, for some reason, questions arise about the applicant’s physical or mental health, the DMV can ask for a detailed medical report before or after the driver’s certification as a bus driver. This report is provided by the DMV Driver License section.

After this, the training process begins. A school bus driver must complete a three-day School Bus Driver Training Class, pass all knowledge tests with a minimum score of 80 percent, pass other skill tests and schedule a behind-the-wheel training with a Driver Education Specialist. It is only after the driver has completed all of these steps successfully and has paid all necessary fees that he or she can seek employment as a school bus driver.

In spite of these various check points, a number of school bus accidents occur in North Carolina, and other parts of the country, injuring a number of students. In many cases, school bus accidents occur due to negligence on the driver’s or the school authority’s part. However, that can only be established after an investigation into an accident. Therefore, if someone is seeking compensation after a child was injured in a school bus accident, that person may seek professional help from a personal injury lawyer.

Source: NCDOT.gov, “School Bus,” Accessed on Feb. 3, 2015

Archives

FindLaw Network