The Law Offices of John M. McCabe, P.A. - Raleigh Personal Injury Attorney
Free Initial Consultations
Toll Free: 877-320-1851 | Phone: 919-899-9852
Toll Free: 877-320-1851
Phone: 919-899-9852
Call Us Now
COVID-19 Update: Our office is open and we are available for video conferencing and phone consultations. Please call us to learn more.
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Commercial Vehicle Accidents
  4.  » What are the steps for getting a CDL in North Carolina?
Personal

Injury
Motor Vehicle

Accidents
Nursing

Home/Assisted Living
Workers'

Compensation
Serious And

Catastrophic Injuries

What are the steps for getting a CDL in North Carolina?

| Apr 2, 2015 | Commercial Vehicle Accidents

 

Residents of North Carolina understand that driving a commercial vehicle requires different skills than driving a non-commercial vehicle. Because of their sheer size, a commercial vehicle accident, delivery truck accident or a garbage truck accident is more likely to result in severe injuries, or even death, than a non-commercial vehicle accident.

In order to get a Commercial Drivers License, or CDL, a commercial vehicle driver needs to get a CDL learner permit first. A CDL permit is valid for six months and has a limit of two permits over the course of two years. A person seeking a CDL learner permit needs to be at least 18 years of age and must possess a valid classified driver license. For operations requiring a medical card, only drivers who are 21 years of age can apply for CDL learner permit. Another requirement for a CDL learner permit is to be accompanied by a licensed CDL driver who has the proper license class.

It may be a good idea to bring the required documents when you visit the Driver License Office to avoid inconvenience. You will need to give four documents, including a proof of age and identity, proof of social security and proof of liability insurance. A non-citizen will need to give proof of residency. For identity proof and age, only those documents will be accepted that have your full name in the document, including your middle name.

You will also need to certify that your license has not been suspended, revoked or disqualified, and that you do not have more than one driving license. You may also need to provide your complete medical records if questions about your physical conditions arise. The next step will be written test and skills test. After that you will need to pay the required fees, which can only be paid through cash, money order or a personal check.

Source: ncdot.gov, “Commercial Drivers (CDL),” Accessed on March 27, 2015

Archives

FindLaw Network