Many North Carolina residents may be aware that in 2002 our state passed a law that required vehicles to move over or reduce their speed if there is an emergency vehicle near them. That law was meant to safeguard accident victims, emergency crews and law enforcement officers who might be present at the scene of an accident. Sadly, as recent reports state, many drivers in the state are unaware of this law.
One example of such an incident occurred recently when a state trooper’s car was hit by another driver. According to reports, the incident happened when the trooper was investigating a car accident on U.S. Highway 70. A 22-year-old driver reportedly crashed into the trooper’s car. Stemming from this incident, and other similar cases, the North Carolina Highway Patrol has stepped up its efforts to apprehend those drivers who break the “move over” law. The fine for that violation is $250.
In addition to the safety of emergency workers and law enforcement officers, the “move over” law is also useful for the passengers of the vehicle at the site of the accident. While it is true that emergency workers and law enforcement officers may be able to obtain workers’ compensation, the same rule does not apply to the general public in the event of an accident like this. For such people, the only option may be to seek compensation by means of a personal injury claim against the negligent driver.
However, claiming compensation is a legal issue and it may be a complicated task for many people, especially when that person is injured because of the accident. Therefore, car accident victims, or their loved ones, oftentimes get more information about how personal injury claims need to be filed.
Source: WNCN.com, “NC drivers continue to violate ‘move over’ law,” June 30, 2015